Make-Up Post #1: Roskilde

So! As expected, I’ve fallen weeks behind schedule in posting to the blog. In fact, I’ve been on three fantastic trips since my last update! I’ll split them up into three separate “make-up posts”. In other news, I’ve been enjoying my classes, which are almost entirely based on group-work here. I also joined the climbing gym recently, as I had to wait for the assistance of my Danish friend Christian, because paying for a gym membership requires a Danish bank account. I’ve been baking or cooking in every spare second; in fact, I just finished my last round of bagels (blueberry this time). Rengo was right to prepare me for a bagel deficit in Europe! Here’s the link to the bagel recipe I used:

http://www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/06/01/bba-cinnamon-raisin-bagels/

Awesome! Finally, my Danish course has begun, and our class is going on a field trip into downtown Lyngby this evening to practice speaking with the natives and to explore the speaking-center. Now, onto Roskilde…..

IMG_1517

The Viking town! This was just a day-trip (which seems short when compared to the week of adventure which followed), but Roskilde is home to the largest church in Denmark and also the Viking Ship Museum! All of the Danish kings for centuries back are buried in this Domkirke. We also learned that all Danish kings are named Fredericks or Christian in alternation. Here are some pictures of the church:

Outside the church (you can see some traditional Danish architecture in the background):

IMG_1519

Inside:

IMG_1520

IMG_1523

IMG_1524

IMG_1527

IMG_1528

IMG_1530

IMG_1531

IMG_1534

Here’s me, climbing into the wall of the church where some Vikings had been laid to rest. I had “Viking tomb dust” on me!

IMG_1538

Afterwards, we went to visit the Viking Ship museum! There were many reconstruction projects outside the museum itself, which really interested the engineers in our group. One smaller ships looked like it had been sewn together with iron! However, most of the artifacts which are found from old Viking ships are small fragments of the ruins. You can see how little they have reconstructed from some ships below:

IMG_1542

IMG_1544

IMG_1545

Here’s my Aussie friend Clara dressing up like a Viking with me:

IMG_1547

We also learned how to write our names in runes (though they didn’t have a “ch”-noise for LaChance). On the way back, we found John the Baptist’s holy spring… in Denmark! Go figure. This water is supposed to heal the drinker of her ailments. No wonder the Vikings were so successful!

IMG_1548

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

